Tomato and Sev Curry


When I was a kid I was a pretty picky eater, but one of the few item I ate often was Sev Tameta nu Shak aka Sev and Tomato Curry  (I use the term curry very loosely here). It is a traditional vegetarian dish that brings up memories in almost every Katyavadi Gujarati (which I am, it’s a specific region of Gujarat India). My mom would make this for me in a matter of minutes since it’s such a simple dish. It is perfect for college kids who want something ethnic without going through too much trouble and it only has a few ingredients. Here is the recipe I used:

Sev Tameta nu Shak ( Sev and Tomato Curry):    

Serves: 2 people                                  Cooking time: 20 minutes

1 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil

2 tomatoes (I used Roma tomatoes) chopped fine

1/2 tsp cumin seeds

1/2 tsp mustard seeds

1/2 cup water

1/2 tsp ground cumin (jeeru)

1/2 tsp tumeric (haldar)

salt

1 cup sev (you can get this at any Indian grocery store. It is basically fried chickpea dough)

1. Put oil in a saucepan and heat and add cumin and mustard seeds. The cumin and mustard seeds should start to pop and sizzle,which is when you should add the chopped tomatoes.

2. Add ground cumin, turmeric, and salt to taste.

3. Add water and cover for 5 minutes. Let simmer.

4. Remove the cover and add the sev. Turn off the gas and cover the saucepan and let it sit for 1-2 minutes. The sev soaks up most of the water at this point and gets nice and soft.

5. Serve with bread and enjoy!

I used Trader Joe’s Garlic Nan as my bread today and it was delicious! Definitely will go back to buy some more.

 

Leave a Reply!

