Overnight Oatmeal

Now that I am trying eat healthier in order to keep my gut from spilling out in my wedding dress, I have started to make breakfast for myself. I needed something easy and fast as I never have extra time to prepare anything in the morning. I came across this overnight oatmeal recipe on Pinterest and decided to give it a shot. I am now addicted. I love that I can mix up flavors and add different ingredients and get various flavors out of one easy meal. I wasn’t too sure about having cold oatmeal, as I never had it before, but I actually prefer this to hot oatmeal now. Not only is the meal easy to make, but it keeps you feeling full for a long time. The added chia seeds are rich in omega-3 fat and protein and makes me feel healthier when I eat it.  Try it out for yourself!

Makes – 1 serving                                      Cook time- 10 min prep, overnight in fridge

1/4 cup of oatmeal

1 tablespoon of chia seeds

1 tablespoon of shredded coconut (optional)

1 tablespoon of dried fruit ( I used cranberries)

1 tablespoon of nuts ( I used walnuts)

1/2 cup of milk (nut milk and soy milk as well)

1/4 cup of fresh fruit or berries (I used raspberries)

optional – coconut or vanilla essence, brown sugar, cinnamon or other spices

                                                                                                                                           

1. Add all the ingredients into mason jar or Tupperware.

2. Mix it up

3. Put it in the fridge and let it sit overnight or at least 4 hours.

4. In the morning just add your fruit and enjoy!

Seriously, it doesn’t get any easier than this. Mix it up! I have tried apples and chai masala, coconut essence and dried apricots, and there are so many more possibilities. Oatmeal isn’t boring anymore!

Leave a Reply!

